Disclaimer: in my ENG 2DI class we are using the “Minds On” writing strategy and this is me modelling…

I love the digital world. I am not someone with a loud voice (literally) but I am someone who has a lot of ideas and the digital world is a place for me to share my thoughts. It’s also a place where I feel that people listen and whether they agree or disagree with my ideas, at least the dialogue is there. Prince EA in his video, “Can We Autocorrect Humanity?” really makes me consider these ideas.

Last week I wrote a post on my blog about the OSSLT and I had over 100 page views alone, which is 10 times the number I have on a daily basis. I also had numerous RT’s and others chiming in to say that I expressed their frustrations with the literacy test in a way that they couldn’t. So in this case I actually disagree with Prince EA because the majority of the people I connected with yesterday are outside of my school district and yet we all felt a similar frustration.

But I also agree with Prince EA. I love my phone and find it very addicting and find myself to be constantly checking in on what’s going on in the world around me. Sometimes I really have to try hard to put the phone away and connect with my children. And don’t get me wrong, I adore my children, but my work day doesn’t end at 2:25 because my students walk out of the classroom and yet I have to physically leave my building and work in order to pick my oldest up from school. Sure, I could stay up really late and work all hours of the night, but my body doesn’t function that way. I need the time in the evening to unwind and relax in order to get a solid night’s rest. And even then, at this point, I don’t feel like I’m getting that.

It’s a vicious cycle for me as I see the pros and cons of this digital revolution. I don’t think I would go as far as him and say that it’s “digital insanity” but I do agree that there’s an element of a “pagentry of vanity.” We are constantly on display right now (if you use social media) and so there’s a constant care that needs to be taken in this new and uncharted environment. In many cases, I think that in of itself, is overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

