Disclaimer: I’m a reality tv junkie…

One thing you might not know about me is that I love the show, “The Voice.” I love singing (even though I suffer from the fixed mindset about my singing abilities…) but I also really enjoy hearing the stories of the people who audition for the show. I’m a sucker for the underdog and I think that the producers do an excellent job of pulling at your heart strings when they introduce each contestant.

The last performer of tonight was Deanna Johnson, an 18 year old girl who had auditioned for the show previously but failed to get a chair to turn. In tonight’s episode, it profiled how after the first rejection, she stopped singing for a couple of months but then regrouped and this time had all four judges turn their chairs for her.

The redemption was great, but what Adam Levine said to her really made an impression on me. I’ve recently read Carol Dweck’s “mindset” and am currently on a learning cycle in our school about fostering the growth mindset in our students. The first thing he praised about her wasn’t that she has an amazing voice (which she does) but rather that she went from not turning any chairs to getting all four to turn and the work ethic and determination (I’m paraphrasing) that she possesses in order to make that happen. He then went on to say that there were a few things he noticed that she could work on, but he wanted to be the one to help her grow. She ended up choosing him to be her coach and as he was walking to welcome her to his team, he talked about how “the good ones want to hear feedback in order to grow” (again paraphrasing). His assessment of her was absolutely bang on as this young 18 year old girl embodies the growth mindset for singing.

By the same token, Deanna really impressed me as in her interview after, she said the reason she chose him was that she “wants someone to be honest with her.” She wants to get better. She thinks she has potential and is looking for him to help her.

It yet again drives home my thinking that we can learn anything from anyone. She is following her passion and embracing this mindset (whether she’s aware of it or not) in order to grow as a singer and she’s only 18!

I’m inspired.

Leave a Reply

