@jacbalen has started a really amazing idea of sharing the idea of choosing “one word” to represent 2015 for you as a learner. There are some fascinating word choices out there and you can read her post that contains links to others’ ideas here. I’ve been reflecting on this idea and I’m struggling to narrow it down to just one word but I think I have it now.

2014 was an awesome year for me as I returned to work after maternity leave and have spent so much time learning and trying new strategies in my classroom. It was also a year of reflection. I spend a lot of my time learning and I’m really attempting to focus on making my classroom a place that is relevant to the lives of students, problem and project based, that promotes reflection and deep thinking within my students, but above else focuses on learning not grades. And yet, one thing I’m struggling with is that most of my students see this style of learning as engaging and powerful, but I think they are still skeptical as it’s not what they are used to and they are unsure if what they learned will translate to their other classes next year and at post secondary.

So with this reflection my word for 2015 is #initiative. The idea that I will look for and act on new ideas and opportunities for learning, demonstrate the capacity for innovation and a willingness to take risks, demonstrate a curiosity and interest in learning, approach new tasks with a positive attitude, and recognize and advocate appropriately for the rights of self and others. These ideas, coincidentally, are the success criteria for initiative under learning skills and work habits here in WRDSB. If I’m expecting this of my students, then I need to be embodying this in the classroom as one of my goals for 2015 is to show my students how I am still a learner and to model my journey for them.

Leave a Reply

