2014 was a year full of ups and downs for me and through it all, I’ve learned the following:

1. Lesson planning is a creative outlet for me. I love to plan and find it satisfying on both a personal and professional level.
2. I have come to depend on some key individuals who support yet push my thinking.
3. I am still learning how to effectively deal with conflict. This is something I have struggled with my whole life and have to take each situation on an individual basis.
4. My body and mind need to stay active in pursuits such as dance or other sports.
5. I really love to learn and to help others learn too. Before this year, learning for me was a means to an end and this year I’ve really started to embrace that learning is a journey which should never end because life is way too interesting not to be explored.
6. That I need to stay true to myself. I have spent a lot of my life worrying about what others think, and although I try to keep that in mind, I’m really trying to focus on what I think and feel instead of letting others determine that for me.
7. That I need to surround myself with passionate people. I feel energized when I am with people who love life and are passionate about what they do and are not satisfied with the status quo.

Goals for 2015
1. More quality time for my family and friends.
2. Encouraging my girls to engage in the growth mindset (many people tell them they are “smart” but I want them to think of themselves in so many other ways.)
3. To stay organized at home and school -> my anxiety level rises when I feel things are spiralling out of control
4. To try to worry less -> this will be hard for me keep…
5. To read a book a month -> I just finished Mindset and am now reading Curiosity
6. To keep being active.
7. To find opportunities that push me outside my comfort zone.
8. To find more ways to give back to those around me. I’ve agreed to help out with our school’s badminton team a couple of times a week as one method of giving back.
9. To ask more questions.
10. To keep taking pictures as it is a creative outlet that I love.

Above all, to keep learning and being curious, and to instil this value in my children as well my students.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on 2014 and Goals for 2015

Leave a Reply

