2013 was a year of major change for me and my little family. We welcomed our second child, Cali, as well as sold our starter home and moved into our dream home. (If you’ve ever put your house up for sale, it’s definitely a stressful time, but to throw a baby and a three year old into the mix and it adds a whole different level of intensity…)

2014 will also be a year of change but more so affecting me and the girls as in three weeks I head back to work at a new school. I really have mixed emotions about starting back to work as I’m excited yet sad. Excited because I love teaching. I love working with students, sharing new experiences, taking risks, and hopefully sharing my love of learning. But I’m also sad. Sad because I love being at home with my girls. I love watching them learn new things (Lexie is so interested in letters, drawing, and using her imagination and Cali is walking, saying a few words and delighting in all the wonders that life has to offer) and I am going to miss out on these special moments. I know that there will always be special moments as long as I take the time but silly things like watching the girls bust a move when ‘Royals’ comes on the radio or the funny stories Lexie tells me while she’s eating lunch or when Cali comes barreling across the room to jump in my lap. I will really miss those daily, yet super special moments in my day.

And I know I’m not alone. These are feelings many mothers face and I know I am super blessed to live in Canada where women can take a full year off with their children, but it doesn’t make leaving them any easier. So, I’m going to reflect and think of all the good times we have had together this year.And I’m going to reflect on all I’ve learned this year about life, balance and especially love. As the immense increase in love in my life has been the greatest change of all.

5 thoughts on “Change (a mommy post)

  1. It sounds indeed like 2014 will be an exciting year for you, Jamie. With two little girls around the house, stepping back into class management will be a breeze! It won’t be long before Lexie has her own big step into the education system so take the time to enjoy the moments. All the best to your family in 2014.

    1. Thanks, Royan. I’m so torn as I’m sure your wife was. We’ve also had some bad experiences with child care so I’m a little nervous on that front too. Hopefully, what we have in place works out well for our girls.

Leave a Reply

