I’ve been thinking a lot about learning lately. One of my personal growth goals is to learn something new on a regular basis and therefore I’m taking a hip hop class. Now, for those who know me, I don’t have swagger or street cred and this is WAY outside my introverted comfort zone, but I am really enjoying the class so far and here are the reasons why:

1. My teacher is engaging. It’s obvious he loves to dance and that he feels the music. He cracks jokes, is encouraging, and treats each person in the class as an individual by scaffolding his teaching.

2. We celebrate success. Even if it is a small success like the proper head tilt or the right way to spin. Everything is positive and it draws some of us shy people out of our shells.

3. Finally, it’s FUN!! We dance, we laugh, we feel the music and we learn. It’s awesome.

I just wish students felt this way about school…

Leave a Reply

