Today I was introduced to the book, “The Dumbest Generation” by Mark Bauerlein and although I’ve only read a short excerpt, it has me fuming. The excerpt I read suggests that students have too much choice and personalization due to the Internet, social networking, video games, et cetera and that they are then unwilling to engage with anything outside of their personal interests.

What I find frustrating about this concept is that while this may be true for some students, I don’t think it’s the majority and it really bothers me that he’s painting our whole next generation with the same brush. In fact, he talks about not trusting anyone under 30 and when this book was published, I was under 30! Sure, I’m interested in technology, use Facebook and Twitter, but I also am curious about a lot of other things on life and I know from talking with my students that they are too.

It’s worrisome for me that the next generation is being viewed in such a negative fashion. I’ve worked in education for seven years now and I’ve taught some absolutely amazing students and it makes me sad to think that they are going be judged in this manner just because of the generation in which they were born.

As always, I welcome your thoughts and ideas.

4 thoughts on “Not the “Dumbest Generation” in my books

  1. I wonder if every generation “under 30” will fall victim of the same criticisms by the “older and wiser” generations? Seems like this is almost too easy a blanket statement to make, with very little evidence to back it up. Of course, that’s part of the beauty of writing such a book, your target generation will take a decade or more to prove you wrong. Just in time for the revised edition.

  2. Is it just me that notices that just about every book I’ve read that tries to peg down the key ideas about tech/learning etc.. misses a whole bunch of them? And part of the issue is exactly what they are talking about, that things are so complex. We can’t change that, and simply lamenting that things are going downhill is in no way heading towards effective strategies to deal with it. I’ve not read this book, but several others on similar topics have often oversimplified to make their argument stronger.

Leave a Reply

