Learning is a constant state for me. Lately I’ve been learning about babies and their stages of growth, but over the past two days, I was back in the education world. I was at the ECOO conference and this year I was honoured to be on the organizing committee.

Before joining this committee, I had never really helped to facilitate anything of this magnitude (other than TedxOntarioEd) and I had no idea how much hard work and dedication goes into pulling off such an event. I can’t say enough about our team! Our fearless leaders, Brenda Sherry and Peter Skillen, gave up countless hours to ensure everything ran smoothly. They are to be commended for their efforts as they are far beyond the call of duty.

The rest of the team worked tirelessly as well. We all had our specific roles and I know that sleep was something that we didn’t get much of during the event, but I think we would all agree that we would forgo sleep to help make this event a success.

I also wanted to say a special thank you to my mom. She attended the conference with me to babysit Lexie. I honestly wouldn’t have been able to help out with the special events sub committee or facilitate the pecha kucha session without ‘Grammy.’

As a closing thought, the ECOO conference is one of the educational events that I look forward to the most in the whole year. I love the energy and passion that the event exudes as well as the face to face connections that are possible when all of us ‘tweeps’ are together. I appreciated all the conversations and enjoyed being able to connect with educators from across Ontario. We have built a really strong network here in Ontario and I believe that events like ECOO only further strengthen our commitment to education and in turn benefit our students.

Finally, I hope everyone enjoyed the last two days as much as I did and will see everyone on Twitter!

3 thoughts on “ECOO 2010

  1. Royan,

    Thank you to you and your students for being such a hit in our pecha kucha session on Friday!! We received lots of positive comments about your students 🙂

  2. Thank you for helping to coordinate such an amazing event! I just loved being a part of it, and I was so glad that I could attend ECOO for the first time this year. I hope to attend again for many years to come. Thanks for letting me be a part of your amazing Pecha Kucha presentation as well. This was such an incredible opportunity.

    I’m so glad that I finally got to meet you face-to-face too!
    Aviva

Leave a Reply

