Today was the first day since June where I stepped foot in a classroom and it felt good. I presented at the Ontario Family Studies and Home Economics Educators’ Association and although it took me a few minutes to relax and find my teacher voice, (I have the world’s quietest voice and it’s only gotten quieter since I’ve been on maternity leave) I was in the groove pretty quickly.

For me, presenting to a group of my peers is so much more daunting than a class full of 16 year olds, but I think the day went really well! I quite enjoyed working with this passionate group of educators as it’s always so fulfilling to hear other teachers speak passionately about their students.

I presented on Diigo, Google Docs, and Ning with a little Glogster thrown in for good measure. I gave quick demos of how to sign up for these tools, but the bulk of my presentation centered on how we can use these tools in our classrooms. I hope this came through as I’m probably one of the most critical audience members when I’m sitting through a presentation so I hope the workshop attendees found them useful and my focus on pedagogy came through. I guess I’ll find out the consensus when I receive feedback in the next fee weeks.

At the end of the day, I was chatting with a student teacher (kudos to OFSHEEA for inviting them to their conference) and it was so amazing to hear her talk about how she could use these tools to connect with the students at her placement. She also said something that warmed my heart as an educator. She was talking about being super busy and feeling like she doesn’t have time to learn all about technology, but she said that she feels she must because it’s what her students need. She also said that at the end of the day, being a teacher is about the students not us and I really couldn’t agree more. I think this girl has a bright future ahead when as a student teacher, she already has the caring and compassionate mindset that will endear her to her students.

And now after my very busy day, it is time for a rest (or as much of a rest as a mommy of a 12 week old baby can get!).

As always, I welcome any feedback and opinions πŸ™‚

Jamie

2 thoughts on “OFSHEEA Conference

  1. You did well at the Conference.
    I enjoyed your sessions…as you can probably tell since I’m creeping you know seeing if I can find links to other cool technology sites. So far I’ve made one assignment involving the foodguide using Glogster. Kids love it, although we are having issues dragging our own pics from the web. I’m sure one of the students will figure it out soon enough. lol
    Thanks again,

    Maija πŸ™‚

    1. I’m glad you found my sessions helpful and that you’re creeping me πŸ™‚

      Another cool site you might want to try is Bitstripsforschools.com. It is ministry licensed so all Ontario teachers can use it in their classrooms.

      If you haven’t already, you should consider joining Twitter as that is where I find a ton of new and exciting tools. πŸ™‚

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

