Here is a list of some of the blessings I try to remember on the difficult days in the classroom:

1. I live and work in Canada – with all the tragedy that is happening in Haiti, I can’t help but be thankful for the wonderful living conditions I enjoy every single day.

2. I have a job – it’s been a tough year and education is one of the few “recession proof” occupations out there. Here in Ontario we are actually getting a raise for the next three years. There are very few occupations who can say they didn’t really lose any employees and got a raise in 2009.

3. I work in a great school – the students at my school are for the most part, a lovely group of young people and I really feel blessed to work in a building where I am respected by the administration, my colleagues and the students I teach.

4. I have wonderful family and friends – being a teacher has really opened my eyes to the fact that I have come from a wonderful family and have a loving husband. In all honesty, every single day I am thankful that I have such an amazing home life because that’s not a reality for many people.

I guess I’m just feeling a little philosophical and thankful on this sunny Wednesday afternoon. Thanks for reading and please feel free to add what you’re thankful for on this blog post.

Image courtesy of Recently Seen.

13 thoughts on “Optimism

  1. Hi Jamie!
    This is the first time I have visited your blog.
    You are right, it is good to remember every day if possible, what we are thankful for. To be honest I forget very often to do this, but it takes me a bad moment to remember all the good things happening to me. This is wrong – we should always be grateful for the positive people and things in our lives : I am always thankful for being a member of a great family, who support me and love me every day.So do I!
    Thank you for a post that reminded me of saying my daily thank-yous!
    Kindest regards,
    Vicky Loras
    (A Greek-Canadian EFL teacher in Switzerland)

  2. We are the midst of midterms, and everyone is rushing around, stressed out. We are whining or whispering, not fun at all. So today I put in my earbuds and listened to extremely loud music as I grade the midterms. The senior essays are ridiculous, insightful, and pedantic at times, but always a reminder that it is all about my kids. And I am grateful that I am lucky enough to witness their take on the world they are about to own. I guess we are kindred spirits today. Thanks for the blog.

  3. Thanks for giving us some perspective Jamie. I too instinctively try to stay clear of toxic aromas in all areas of my life. I think, in many ways, it is the key to life.

  4. I agree. Sometimes, I admit I am the source of the problem, and right in there complaining and gossiping. But I try not to be, and it is difficult to maintain that possitive upbeat attitude when you are surrounded by complaining.

  5. Thanks for the absolutely brilliant post! It is all about perspective. Now I am thinking, what can I do to help share my perspective tomorrow? I think sharing my similar reflections might help start the day!

    Cheers!

  6. Excellent sharing of your thoughts Jamie. Thank you for reminding us about how important it is to say thank-you. Sometimes, when I’m feeling like things are a little rough, I travel back in time to when I spent a couple of months with my newborn daughter in neonatal ICU in London, and everything I witnessed during that time – an incredible learning experience that taught me about life and how I wanted to live it. Reflecting on those times, always grounds me again to realize what is a “real issue” vs a “little thing”. Stay the course with your positive attitude and keep spreading it!

  7. I hear what you are saying, often the staff room is the place where you hear those things you don’t need to hear and it is a negative energy. I agree with you on all of the points you make. Teaching is such a great job that allows for so much creativity.

  8. Thanks Jamie. It’s nice to think good thoughts. I just returned from my hometown in New Brunswick where we laid my Grandfather to rest. We need to be reminded that we on the whole, have it pretty good. Less complaining by all of us would be a nice thing. Thanks for the thoughts.

  9. Very nice, Jamie! Finding and creating opportunities for positive discourse is critical in education. There is no doubt that collaborating and learning with other educators in creating an implementing an optimistic vision is what we need in our profession. 🙂

  10. Thoughts like these are imperative to maintaining a proper perspective in this day and age. Your students, colleagues, your family and you will all benefit from this.

  11. A great reminder Jamie! After this week I’ll be thrilled when the stress level subsides! I appreciated your thoughts because they do help to serve as a reminder that there are SO many reasons to be thankful!

  12. HI Jamie, hope you’re having fun at educon. I rarely visit the staffroom, which got me branded as “antisocial” at my previous school (also because I didn’t go on the group shopping trips to outlet malls in Buffalo). Attitudes are catching and I think very well-intentioned teachers who are just trying to let off steam end up getting caught in this vicious circle of negativity when they visit the staffroom. It’s just not worth it. If that makes me anti-social, so be it. It will make me a happier teacher.

Leave a Reply

