Today I’ve decided to make a foray into the world of blogging and I being as this is my first post, I feel that I should discuss why I’ve chosen to blog and explain my teaching philosophy.  I’ve recently started using Twitter and have been so overwhelmed with the amazing ideas for technology in education as well as how willing so many people are to offer support, feedback and guidance! Teachers all over the world can connect to share ideas and it just is so fascinating to me! It is a whole new world that I am attempting to join and I feel that a blog will aid in my understanding and allow me the opportunity to be an active contributor as well.

As a relatively new teacher and one who has grown up using technology, I feel that it is important for us as educators to be engaging our students in their language.  I very rarely ever sit down with a pen and paper anymore and so it’s hard for me to ask my students to do the same. I’m actually sitting here with a textbook for the Ontario Secondary School Literacy Course and am considering that when my students graduate next month, are they ever really going to pick up a bookagain? For these students, specifically, they are fully engaged in the worlds of texting and Facebook with the occasional glance at a newspaper or magazine, but are books really going to be an important aspect of their futures? I’m highly doubtful. So this makes me ask myself, what can I do to help them navigate the world of technology as well as encourage some sort of lifelong literacy? My answer: technology is the way to go. It’s my job as an English teacher as well as someone who is immersed in the world of technology.

In closing, that is a brief glimpse into my brain. If anyone has any comments, feedback, or suggestions, please feel free to share! Thanks for reading!

Jamie

5 thoughts on “Near the End Thoughts

  1. I think that blogging is a really good way for teachers to be reflective about their practise. I completely agree with you about using technology especially in the OSSLC. It makes the learning so much more authentic. Hope you find blogging as helpful as I have. I look forward to reading your future posts!

  2. Thoughtful post.

    You pose an couple of interesting questions: Will books factor into the lives of future students and should our teaching reflect what we predict the future will hold?

    While I believe that teachers must find (and teach within) their comfort zones, I also believe that they must forray into the realms that challenge them. As a bricks and mortar teacher, my comfort zone is with books, pad, and pen. Therefore, for me, I challenge myself to venture into the digital worlds with my students (and risk being the learner among a class full of teachers).

    However, for the digital teacher, I would urge caution at sliding too far into the virtual ether, lest he/she loose traction with the larger world beyond the wifi. Given the fact that our students’ tendencies to communicate and learn through the internet, it is all the more imperative that we equip them with the skills to navigate through more archaic mediums in order to better prepare them for taking the handoff from yesterday’s generation.

    The transition from immigrants to natives requires efforts on both sides to meet in the middle. Perhaps, rather than digital or print, we should consider empathy and understanding as the foundations for education.

    Welcome to the world of blogging. I look forward to more posts.

  3. Hi Jamie

    Welcome to the blogosphere! A nice first post and I’d like to reiterate Jason’s comments above. I am also a relative newcomer to integrating web 2.0 tools into my teaching practise and so I am evangelical but I am also trying to remain respectful of the ‘archaic’ at the same time!

    Please do drop in to see what I’ve been up to in the last 2 months since I got started at http://www.inksights.co.uk – it’s a steep learning curve but well worth it in my opinion. Keep posting, keep reaching out and we’ll all get there together 🙂

    All Good Thoughts

    Andy

  4. As an aging educator who was for many years an English teacher, I too wonder if printed materials will play much of a role in the future of today’s students. But literacy will continue to be crucial, even more so than in the past, as we are truly immersed in an information society. And so I think you are quite correct to see your role as assisting them “to navigate the world of technology” and to help them acquire lifelong literacy. Technology will no doubt continue to change how we communicate, but if the current trends continue, it will also cause us to communicate more than we ever have in the past. While we may not appreciate the texting language that our students use, there is no question that they are communicating more, especially our male students who were so often reluctant to put pen to paper “back in the day” as they like to say.

Leave a Reply

